There Was Whiskey In My Cake.

The gin and tonic cake last week was delicious and as the days are getting shorter and the evening colder, I am reminded that booze does warm you up a bit. So I’ve been scratching my head as what kind of tipsy new treat I could put together and here is what I came up with…

Ingredients: 

200 g of self rising flour; 200g of caster sugar; 180 g butter (softened and cubed); 4 eggs; 2 apples (peeled and grated); 1 punnet of blackberries; 1 good pinch of nutmeg; 5 shots of whiskey (I used tasty Jamieson), 2 generous tbs of maple syrup.

Method:

Pre-heat the oven to 180 C. In a bowl mix the butter and sugar together until well incorporated.

20141002_143002

Add the eggs and beat the mixture until smooth. Add the flour and cinnamon and mix until there are no lumps left. Stir the whiskey in.  Add the grated apples and blackberries and place in the baking mould.

20141002_145341
I put that picture up and you all thought it was rice pudding. How I laughed!

Place the cake in the oven and let it bake for 35 to 40 min. Your knife should come back clean from the test. The apple doesn’t come through much but keeps it really moist so don’t be worrying about wanting the middle undercooked like you might for some other cakes. Place it on a cooling tray and take it out of the mould like so. I used a paper plate so it wouldn’t go all over the place!

20141002_171630

Once it’s cooled down for about 10 min, prick the top with a fork and pour the syrup (mix 2 shots of whiskey with 2 tbsp of maple syrup). Take your time with it as you want the syrup to coat the top but also get inside the cake and not just drip to the sides! Trust me this is gooooood!

20141002_192128
It’s better cooked than it looks! I didn’t get a chance to take a good picture so will try harder next time!
Leave a Reply

