Summery Apple Chutney

I had a few apples knocking around and didn’t fancy just munching on them so decided to make this chutney which I intend to freeze in small portions for future consumption. I’ve been trying to work on reducing my food waste and this is a quick, easy, healthy and cheap way to use up left over fruit.

Ingredients:

4 large apples, 2 large onions, 3 cloves of garlic, splash of rice vinegar, juice of a lemon, spices to taste (I used some chili powder, nutmeg and ginger), fresh herbs (I used sage) and salt and pepper.

Image

Method:

Chop all ingredients and place in the pot, keep it on low heat for 40 min mixing it every now and then. The apples should nearly melt.

Image

Leave a Reply

