Easy Peasy Chocolate Fudge Cake

So it’s been a long week and I needed a treat. I’ve not had chocolate in a few of days and I’ve been craving it like mad.  There was only one thing for it and that was to make myself a cake. I’ve been meaning to get into baking for ages but never get to it. I’ve this idea that baking is complicated and that you must measure and be precise and follow instructions to the letter. And unfortunately that’s not how I cook. You’ll have seen my recipes are not the most prescriptive. I enjoy messy cooking. Getting an idea and working out, messily, how to get from your ingredients to your finished product. I’ve never been one to go by the step by step approach so I’ve never really tried my hand at baking. I can do a few basics like the crumbles and a few pies but that’s about it. So I asked for inspiration on Twitter during the week and @enormous linked me up to this recipe: http://roseannesmith.com/2003/10/chocolate-fudge-cake/#sthash.7sZZufJz.dpbs

And so I decided to try it out. And obviously to change it a bit. First the measurements are in ounces and I’m metric girl so I’d to convert everything and it also seemed to be for a massive cake so I “kinda” halved everything. I also changed from a cocoa powder to solid chocolate. Here I go again messing with an original recipe…

So here’s my “smaller” take on this recipe.

Ingredients:

200 g unsalted butter, 300 g caster or granulated sugar, 300 g white flour, 2 eggs, 200 g dark chocolate, splash of your drink of choice (rum or whisky for me),

As for the cake mould, I have a heart shaped silicone one I bought in Ikea ages ago and never used before. Not sure what the measurements are but it’s nothing too big.

Method:

Pre-heat the oven to 180 C

In a bowl placed on a simmering pot melt your butter, remove the bowl from the heat and mix the sugar in the melted butter, add your eggs (one at a time) and keep mixing it all up. While your water is still hot you should place another bowl on it with the broken down chocolate bars and melt those. While the chocolate is melting incorporate the flour into your cake mix and then add the melted chocolate. Give it a good mix and pour into your buttered mould.

Cook for approx 30 to 35 min.

Mine looked this:

Image

6 thoughts on “Easy Peasy Chocolate Fudge Cake

  1. Katia, it´s almost like Tarte au Chocolat , except my recipe has only one tablespoon of fluor, 200 grams of butter, 200 grams of dark chockolate, 4 eggs.Mixing and making is the same as yours.And cookong time is 25 minutes with 200C.Its really moist and nice and maybe has less calories!
    Your nr 1 fan from Osula

    1. Viv, I’d much recommend Tiina’s version. It was much nicer! I will do a separate post for it as it’s seriously much much tastier! Tempted to try it with white chocolate also!

Leave a Reply

