Pasta Bake… by mistake

So I was going to make some homemade Pizza. I put all the pizza base ingredients in the bread maker, switched it on for dough and an hour and half later I had sloppy wet gloop… That’ll teach me to check the use by date on the yeast… double duh.

I’d already opened the mozzarella and sliced the tomatoes and I had two hungry teenagers and no idea what to do. The obvious was a quick pasta dinner. I boiled some fusilli in salted water, drained it and then had a little epiphany.

I heated the oven up to 180 degrees, emptied half a jar of green pesto into the pasta, added a glug of olive oil, some salt and pepper and a pinch of paprika. I chucked the pasta into a large oven dish, spread the sliced tomatoes over the top, ripped the the mozzarella up and covered the tomatoes. Then I sprinkled some dried oregano and grated some parmesan over everything and banged it in the oven for 20 minutes. According to the aforementioned teenagers, it was the best pasta bake they’d had for ages.

So there you go, accidental cooking is sometimes the best sort. Pasta Pizza is a new favourite.

Leave a Reply

